Bringing life to the Potter House

Bringing life to the Potter House

  By Mike Steely steelym@knoxfocus.com Some people call a section along Washington Avenue the “Barber Block” for the large number of homes there designed by noted architect George Barber. The name is certainly appropriate but of all the Barber Homes in that Edgewood neighborhood there’s one Barber home that was never in a catalog. Being […]

The 1934 Senate Race In Tennessee

By Ray Hill Part One By 1934, Republicans were not much of a factor in statewide elections in Tennessee.  The political landscape in the Volunteer State had changed with the resignation of Senator Cordell Hull, who had agreed to serve as Secretary of State in the administration of President Franklin D. Roosevelt in 1933.  It […]

Knights overcome slow start, down Warriors 5-2

Knights overcome slow start, down Warriors 5-2

By Ken Lay The Knoxville Knights overcame a sluggish start Thursday night to claim a crucial 5-2 victory over the Knoxville Warriors in a Knoxville Amateur Hockey Association High School League game at the Icearium. The win strengthened the Knights’ hold on third place in the KAHA standings. “This win was big for us because […]

Tullock Email: Crisis Regarding School Board – Request for Your Attention and Help

From: Laurens Tullock [mailto:ltullock@cornerstoneofknoxville.org] Sent: Tuesday, January 05, 2016 4:11 PM To: Jon R. Lawler (jlawler@johnsongalyon.com) <jlawler@johnsongalyon.com>;rgibson@lawlerwood.com; Phil Lawson (plawson@lhp.net) <plawson@lhp.net>; Alvin Nance <anance@lhp.net>; Ashley Capps (ashley@acentertainment.com) <ashley@acentertainment.com>; David Dewhirst (david@dewhirstproperties.com) <david@dewhirstproperties.com>; Will Haslam (Will.Haslam@pilottravelcenters.com) <Will.Haslam@pilottravelcenters.com>; Don & Carol Parnell (kvilleparnells@aol.com) <kvilleparnells@aol.com>; H. Wesley Stowers Jr. (wstowers@stowerscat.com) <wstowers@stowerscat.com>;lizstowers@gmail.com; Tim Young (tyoung@summithealthcare.com) <tyoung@summithealthcare.com>; Eddie Mannis (emannis@prestigecleanersinc.net) […]

The Cockatoo

By Rosie Moore On Christmas Eve I met a cockatoo. I really did. His name is Dusty even though he is a beautiful white bird. His lovely comb on the top of his head fluttered up and down constantly. He made a lot of noise, sometimes very loudly, and could speak a few words like, […]

School Board Members Schooled By Law Director

By Sally Absher It is going to be a long seven months and three weeks. That is how much longer certain School Board Members will have to serve who won’t be seeking re-election. These “lame duck” BOE members seem to have made it their mission to cause as much disruption during Board meetings as they […]

The Chalk Board for January 11, 2016

By Sally Absher   Special Called Board of Education Meeting – Tuesday, January 19 School Board Chairman Doug Harris has scheduled a special called meeting of the Knox County Board of Education for Tuesday, January 19 to discuss a potential resignation agreement and a possible buyout of the superintendent’s contract. The meeting will begin at […]

Snow Shadows

By Ralphine Major It has finally arrived.  The unseasonably warm temperatures made it seem like winter weather had bypassed us this year.  Now, those tropical days seem like a dream. The cold came calling a few days ago accompanied by a few snowflakes dancing around as if they were trying to find their place in […]

Losing our way

By Joe Rector The end of 2015 has come and gone; we’ve struck out on the new year, but I wonder just how much promise it holds. With just a bit of observation, some might say that this country has lost its way. That includes the country as a whole and the citizens as individuals. […]

1 46 47 48 49 50 377