Chairman Alexander Announces Committee Schedule for “Step by Step” Consideration of Biomedical Innovation Bills

Feb. 9 meeting will be 1st of 3 to produce companion legislation to 21st Century Cures Act already passed by House    “The House has completed its work on the 21st Century Cures Act. The president has announced his support for a precision medicine initiative and a cancer ‘moonshot.’ It is urgent that the Senate […]

Knox County Government Closings for Wednesday, January 20

The following Knox County Government Offices will be closed Wednesday, Jan. 20: Offices reporting to the Knox County Mayor (including libraries, senior centers, veteran services, health department and solid waste convenience centers) Knox County Criminal, Criminal Sessions, and 4th Circuit Court Clerk Knox County District Attorney General Knox County Election Commission Knox County Clerk Knox […]

Legal and Public Notices for January 18, 2016

NOTICE OF FORECLOSURE SALE   STATE OF TENNESSEE, KNOX COUNTY WHEREAS, Libby Sherrill a/k/a Libby R. Sherrill executed a Deed of Trust to Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems, Inc. as nominee for Regions Bank d/b/a AmSouth Bank, Lender and FMLS, Inc., Trustee(s), which was dated November 7, 2006 and recorded on November 16, 2006 in Instrument […]

Publisher’s Position: The ‘Whoopsie’ Defense

By Steve Hunley Jennifer Owen, candidate for the Knox County Board of Education in the Second District, has officially filed a complaint with the Internal Revenue Service.  Mrs. Owen’s complaint involves an email sent by J. Laurens Tullock, President of the Cornerstone Foundation.  The complaint revolves around Tullock’s having sent an overtly political email using […]

Bringing life to the Potter House

Bringing life to the Potter House

  By Mike Steely steelym@knoxfocus.com Some people call a section along Washington Avenue the “Barber Block” for the large number of homes there designed by noted architect George Barber. The name is certainly appropriate but of all the Barber Homes in that Edgewood neighborhood there’s one Barber home that was never in a catalog. Being […]

The 1934 Senate Race In Tennessee

By Ray Hill Part One By 1934, Republicans were not much of a factor in statewide elections in Tennessee.  The political landscape in the Volunteer State had changed with the resignation of Senator Cordell Hull, who had agreed to serve as Secretary of State in the administration of President Franklin D. Roosevelt in 1933.  It […]

Knights overcome slow start, down Warriors 5-2

Knights overcome slow start, down Warriors 5-2

By Ken Lay The Knoxville Knights overcame a sluggish start Thursday night to claim a crucial 5-2 victory over the Knoxville Warriors in a Knoxville Amateur Hockey Association High School League game at the Icearium. The win strengthened the Knights’ hold on third place in the KAHA standings. “This win was big for us because […]

Tullock Email: Crisis Regarding School Board – Request for Your Attention and Help

From: Laurens Tullock [mailto:ltullock@cornerstoneofknoxville.org] Sent: Tuesday, January 05, 2016 4:11 PM To: Jon R. Lawler (jlawler@johnsongalyon.com) <jlawler@johnsongalyon.com>;rgibson@lawlerwood.com; Phil Lawson (plawson@lhp.net) <plawson@lhp.net>; Alvin Nance <anance@lhp.net>; Ashley Capps (ashley@acentertainment.com) <ashley@acentertainment.com>; David Dewhirst (david@dewhirstproperties.com) <david@dewhirstproperties.com>; Will Haslam (Will.Haslam@pilottravelcenters.com) <Will.Haslam@pilottravelcenters.com>; Don & Carol Parnell (kvilleparnells@aol.com) <kvilleparnells@aol.com>; H. Wesley Stowers Jr. (wstowers@stowerscat.com) <wstowers@stowerscat.com>;lizstowers@gmail.com; Tim Young (tyoung@summithealthcare.com) <tyoung@summithealthcare.com>; Eddie Mannis (emannis@prestigecleanersinc.net) […]

1 35 36 37 38 39 266