Bringing life to the Potter House

Bringing life to the Potter House

  By Mike Steely steelym@knoxfocus.com Some people call a section along Washington Avenue the “Barber Block” for the large number of homes there designed by noted architect George Barber. The name is certainly appropriate but of all the Barber Homes in that Edgewood neighborhood there’s one Barber home that was never in a catalog. Being […]

The 1934 Senate Race In Tennessee

By Ray Hill Part One By 1934, Republicans were not much of a factor in statewide elections in Tennessee.  The political landscape in the Volunteer State had changed with the resignation of Senator Cordell Hull, who had agreed to serve as Secretary of State in the administration of President Franklin D. Roosevelt in 1933.  It […]

Knights overcome slow start, down Warriors 5-2

Knights overcome slow start, down Warriors 5-2

By Ken Lay The Knoxville Knights overcame a sluggish start Thursday night to claim a crucial 5-2 victory over the Knoxville Warriors in a Knoxville Amateur Hockey Association High School League game at the Icearium. The win strengthened the Knights’ hold on third place in the KAHA standings. “This win was big for us because […]

Tullock Email: Crisis Regarding School Board – Request for Your Attention and Help

From: Laurens Tullock [mailto:ltullock@cornerstoneofknoxville.org] Sent: Tuesday, January 05, 2016 4:11 PM To: Jon R. Lawler (jlawler@johnsongalyon.com) <jlawler@johnsongalyon.com>;rgibson@lawlerwood.com; Phil Lawson (plawson@lhp.net) <plawson@lhp.net>; Alvin Nance <anance@lhp.net>; Ashley Capps (ashley@acentertainment.com) <ashley@acentertainment.com>; David Dewhirst (david@dewhirstproperties.com) <david@dewhirstproperties.com>; Will Haslam (Will.Haslam@pilottravelcenters.com) <Will.Haslam@pilottravelcenters.com>; Don & Carol Parnell (kvilleparnells@aol.com) <kvilleparnells@aol.com>; H. Wesley Stowers Jr. (wstowers@stowerscat.com) <wstowers@stowerscat.com>;lizstowers@gmail.com; Tim Young (tyoung@summithealthcare.com) <tyoung@summithealthcare.com>; Eddie Mannis (emannis@prestigecleanersinc.net) […]

Legal and Public Notices for January 11, 2016

NOTICE OF FORECLOSURE SALE     STATE OF TENNESSEE, KNOX COUNTY WHEREAS, Carol Clifton and Tommy L. Clifton executed a Deed of Trust to Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems, Inc. as nominee for SunTrust Mortgage, Inc., Lender and Larry A. Weissman, Trustee(s), which was dated September 25, 2012 and recorded on October 2, 2012 in Instrument […]

The Knoxville Focus for January 11, 2016

Susan Horn Kicks off School Board Campaign By Sally Absher sallyabsher@knoxfocus.com Susan Horn hosted a well-attended campaign kick-off last Friday evening at the Milestones Event Center in Farragut.  Over 75 supporters and several elected officials attended the event. Susan and her husband Brad have lived in the 5th District for 14 years. They have two […]

The Great Depression in Tennessee

By Ray Hill   Tennessee, like the rest of the country, was suffering terribly from the effects of the Great Depression.  Despite the general impression the 1920s had been a decade of plenty and prosperity, that was not entirely true in the South. Tennessee was especially hard hit.  Following the crash of the stock market, […]

Publisher’s Position: McIntyre Leaving

By Steve Hunley The decision by Superintendent of Schools Jim McIntyre to announce his plans to leave office July 8, 2016, contingent upon being given a year of salary, was not necessarily the selfless act some would have us believe.  The plain fact of the matter is McIntyre was about to lose control of the […]

1 5 6 7 8 9 236