Tullock Email: Crisis Regarding School Board – Request for Your Attention and Help

From: Laurens Tullock [mailto:ltullock@cornerstoneofknoxville.org] Sent: Tuesday, January 05, 2016 4:11 PM To: Jon R. Lawler (jlawler@johnsongalyon.com) <jlawler@johnsongalyon.com>;rgibson@lawlerwood.com; Phil Lawson (plawson@lhp.net) <plawson@lhp.net>; Alvin Nance <anance@lhp.net>; Ashley Capps (ashley@acentertainment.com) <ashley@acentertainment.com>; David Dewhirst (david@dewhirstproperties.com) <david@dewhirstproperties.com>; Will Haslam (Will.Haslam@pilottravelcenters.com) <Will.Haslam@pilottravelcenters.com>; Don & Carol Parnell (kvilleparnells@aol.com) <kvilleparnells@aol.com>; H. Wesley Stowers Jr. (wstowers@stowerscat.com) <wstowers@stowerscat.com>;lizstowers@gmail.com; Tim Young (tyoung@summithealthcare.com) <tyoung@summithealthcare.com>; Eddie Mannis (emannis@prestigecleanersinc.net) […]

Legal and Public Notices for January 11, 2016

NOTICE OF FORECLOSURE SALE     STATE OF TENNESSEE, KNOX COUNTY WHEREAS, Carol Clifton and Tommy L. Clifton executed a Deed of Trust to Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems, Inc. as nominee for SunTrust Mortgage, Inc., Lender and Larry A. Weissman, Trustee(s), which was dated September 25, 2012 and recorded on October 2, 2012 in Instrument […]

The Knoxville Focus for January 11, 2016

Susan Horn Kicks off School Board Campaign By Sally Absher sallyabsher@knoxfocus.com Susan Horn hosted a well-attended campaign kick-off last Friday evening at the Milestones Event Center in Farragut.  Over 75 supporters and several elected officials attended the event. Susan and her husband Brad have lived in the 5th District for 14 years. They have two […]

The Great Depression in Tennessee

By Ray Hill   Tennessee, like the rest of the country, was suffering terribly from the effects of the Great Depression.  Despite the general impression the 1920s had been a decade of plenty and prosperity, that was not entirely true in the South. Tennessee was especially hard hit.  Following the crash of the stock market, […]

Publisher’s Position: McIntyre Leaving

By Steve Hunley The decision by Superintendent of Schools Jim McIntyre to announce his plans to leave office July 8, 2016, contingent upon being given a year of salary, was not necessarily the selfless act some would have us believe.  The plain fact of the matter is McIntyre was about to lose control of the […]

Interested in Disc Golf?

By Mike Steely steelym@knoxfocus.com It’s fun and free and you get exercise in doing it. There are no green fees, no golf carts needed, no expensive equipment and no competition unless you want it. Plus you can wear anything you like and go anytime you want. No, it’s not golf but disc golf. The popular […]

CAK sophomore is known for running but has many talents and interests

By Steve Williams On the way back from North Carolina and her final cross country race of the 2015 season, Rebecca Story and her mother and brother stopped by the Boyd Mountain Christmas tree farm in Waynesville and had a tree cut down to take home. “I later baked oatmeal cookies – baking is my […]

Cold shooting, turnovers doom Lady Hawks

By Ken Lay Late turnovers and cold shooting spelled defeat for the Hardin Valley Academy girls basketball team Thursday night. “We turned the ball over,” Lady Hawks coach Jennifer Galloway said after her team endured a tough fourth quarter in a 47-39 District 4-AAA loss to William Blount at home. “I thought our kids played […]

1 71 72 73 74 75 303